Most "best habit tracker" lists are affiliate pages with invented numbers. This one has a link on every claim, and it tells you where we couldn't verify something.
How to read this page, including the awkward part
We make one of the products listed below. Snurko is ours, it isn't released yet, and it appears in the table with nothing to show for itself. We've marked it clearly and given it no advantages it hasn't earned. If that's still too close for comfort, use the table and skip the last row — the rest stands on its own.
Everything else was read off live store listings and official sites on 8 August 2026, US storefront. Ratings move, prices change and apps get delisted, so treat every number as a snapshot with a date on it, not a permanent fact. Where a claim couldn't be verified from a first-party source, it isn't here.
The table
| App | Platforms | Price | Rating (8 Aug 2026) | Account |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75 Hard (official) | Android, iOS | Subscription: $4.99/month or $39.99/year | 3.7 from 810 (Play) · 4.6 from 6,400 (iOS) | Required |
| Loop Habit Tracker | Android | Free, open source (GPLv3), no ads, no purchases | 4.7 from 62,969 (Play) | None |
| HabitNow | Android | Free with a one-time premium unlock; Play lists purchases at $0.99–$11.99 per item | 4.7 from 91,790 (Play) | Optional |
| Streaks | iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Mac, Vision Pro | $5.99 once, no subscription | 4.8 from 27,347 (iOS) | Not stated |
| Habitica | Android, iOS, web | Free with ads; subscriptions $4.99/month to $47.99/year, plus gem packs | 4.7 from 74,732 (Play) · 4.2 from 3,057 (iOS) | Required |
| Tough Habits (75 Day Program) | iOS | Free with ads; $1.99 removes ads and unlocks editing | 4.8 from 2,473 (iOS) | Not stated |
| 75 Days Challenge Tough & Soft | iOS | Free (purchase details not verified) | 4.8 from 8,472 (iOS) | Not stated |
| Paper, or your notes app | Everywhere | Free | — | None |
| Snurko (ours) | Android and iOS at launch | Free, open source (GPL-3.0), no ads; an optional tip unlocks nothing | Not released, so no rating | None; local-first |
The apps, one at a time
75 Hard, the official app
Made by 44Seven Media, Andy Frisella's company. It is the only app that can legitimately call itself the 75 Hard app, and it runs on both platforms.
It is a subscription. The Play description opens with the line "|| Requires Subscription ||", and the App Store listing shows exactly two in-app purchases: Monthly Access at $4.99 and Full Year Membership at $39.99.
The interesting number is the split between stores. On the App Store it sits at 4.6 from 6,400 ratings. On Google Play it sits at 3.7 from 810 — and the listing's rating histogram is unusually shaped: 485 five-star ratings and 217 one-star ratings, with very little in between.
Reviews mention one thing far more than any other: that the app used to be a one-time purchase and later moved to a subscription. Several one-star App Store reviews say so directly, including "Bought this app for $5.99 years ago. Went to start 75 hard again and it makes you subscribe monthly." One five-star reviewer claims earlier buyers are grandfathered in if they sign in with the original Apple ID; we found no official statement either way, so treat that as disputed rather than settled. Reviews also mention the absence of a water-intake tracker.
Worth stating plainly, because it is the source of most of the frustration: the program is free. Frisella's own page says "Absolutely 0 payment necessary" and offers the rules and a program PDF tracker on his site. The subscription buys the app, not the challenge.
Loop Habit Tracker — the free one that is genuinely good
Loop by Álinson S Xavier is free in the way that almost nothing is any more: open source under GPLv3, no ads, no in-app purchases, no account. Its Play description states it directly — "Loop doesn't require an Internet connection or online account registration. Your confidential habit data never leaves your phone." The source is on GitHub and it is packaged on F-Droid.
4.7 from 62,969 Play ratings, over five million downloads. Android only — there is no iOS build, and apps with similar names on the App Store are different products.
Two honest notes. The Play build was last updated on 15 September 2025 and F-Droid's newest release is 2.3.1 from 21 August 2025; make of those dates what you like. And Loop deliberately does not do what this site argues for — its own description says "A few missed days after a long streak, however, will not completely destroy your entire progress, unlike other don't-break-the-chain apps." If what you want is a tracker that forgives you, Loop is a better fit than Snurko is ever going to be, and it costs nothing.
We found no citable source for specific user complaints about Loop, so there are none listed here.
HabitNow
HabitNow Daily Routine Planner, Android only, 4.7 from 91,790 ratings and over five million downloads. Last updated 27 July 2026, so it is actively maintained.
The pricing model is the one this site likes: HabitNow's own site says "HabitNow offers a one-time premium upgrade that unlocks additional features", and adds that the licence is non-transferable. Google Play lists in-app purchases at $0.99–$11.99 per item; we could not verify a single exact unlock price from a first-party source, so we're not printing one. We also could not verify the free tier's habit limit first-hand, so that isn't here either, though several roundups quote a number.
On privacy, its site states: "When using HabitNow as a non-premium user, your data is stored only on your device, and our team cannot access it." Sign-in is optional and exists for purchases and cloud backup.
No sourceable user complaints, so none listed.
Streaks
Streaks by Crunchy Bagel is $5.99 once, with no subscription and no in-app purchases, and it is Apple-only — the official site lists iPhone, Apple Watch, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision Pro, and no Android. 4.8 from 27,347 ratings, with a version released two days before this page was written.
Reviews mention three things. The 24-task cap, which the listing states as a feature and which some long-term users find restrictive. Widget and Apple Watch reliability. And that there is no free trial — you buy it or you don't.
Habitica
Habitica by HabitRPG turns habits into a role-playing game, runs on Android, iOS and the web, and is open source. 4.7 from 74,732 ratings on Play; 4.2 from 3,057 on the App Store.
It is the only app in this table whose Play listing carries both the "Contains ads" and "In-app purchases" badges. Subscriptions run from $4.99 a month to $47.99 a year, with separate gem packs from $0.99 to $19.99.
Reviews mention the gem economy feeling pay-to-win, and cross-platform sync and widget bugs that reviewers describe as long-standing. In fairness, other reviewers say the opposite about the paywall: one five-star review notes it "doesn't hide functionality behind a paywall… you can subscribe for some aesthetic options, it basically retains all functionality."
If gamification is what keeps you going, this is the app built for that, and nothing here is an argument against it.
Tough Habits, and the unofficial 75-day apps
75 Day Program - Tough Habits is iOS-only, free with ads, with a $1.99 purchase that removes ads and unlocks editing. 4.8 from 2,473 ratings, up to three personalised goals. One fact you should weigh: its current version was released on 23 September 2023 — nearly three years ago.
On Android, 75 Days Challenge by BeStronger sits at 4.0 from 997 ratings, carries ads and a $1.99 purchase, and is open about what it is — its description says it is "Inspired by Andy Frisella's revolutionary program 75 Hard Challenge."
On iOS, 75 Days Challenge Tough & Soft is free and sits at 4.8 from 8,472 ratings, which makes it the highest-rated and most-reviewed 75-Hard-specific app on the platform — rated above the official one. We didn't verify its purchase options, so they aren't in the table.
A word of caution about the rest of the category: several 75-day apps have averages under 2 stars from a few dozen ratings. A star score means very little under a few hundred ratings, so read the count before the score.
Paper, and your notes app
This deserves a real row, not a polite mention. A printed grid costs nothing, never loses your data, never updates itself into something worse, and cannot be discontinued. Frisella's own site offers an official 75 HARD program PDF tracker for exactly this, and our own printable 90-day grid is free with no email gate. It is a genuinely reasonable choice, and one App Store reviewer's advice — "save yourself money and just print out a tracker" — is not wrong.
What paper does not do is remind you, survive a house move, or count anything for you. That's the entire gap a habit app fills. If that gap doesn't bother you, stop reading and go print something.
Snurko — ours, and not out yet
Full disclosure again: this is the site you're on.
Snurko is a 90-day challenge app launching in January, on Android first, with the iOS build ready and waiting on App Store review. Your habits, one grid of ninety cells, explicit restart rules, everything stored on the phone with no account. It is free and open source under the GPL-3.0 — the app's source is on GitHub, so the privacy claim in that row is one you can check rather than trust. There is an optional tip in the app; it unlocks nothing and no feature waits behind it.
It has no rating, because it has no users. It has no reviews to quote and no track record to point at. Every other row in this table is a fact you can check today; this row is a promise, and you should weight it accordingly. If you'd rather wait and see, that is the correct instinct — the waitlist exists so we can tell you once, when there's something real to judge.
What the ratings actually tell you
One pattern is worth pulling out, because it's the opposite of what you'd expect.
Across these listings, the official 75 Hard app is the lowest-rated app in the entire set on Google Play (3.7), while free and one-time-purchase apps sit at 4.7 and 4.8. It's also rated a full point lower on Play than on the App Store — the same app, the same subscription, two very different verdicts. And on iOS, an unofficial 75-day tracker is rated higher, with more ratings, than the official one.
Draw the modest conclusion, not the dramatic one: brand recognition doesn't predict user satisfaction here, and a paid tier isn't what people object to — how it arrives is. The most consistently cited complaint in this whole comparison is a purchase model that changed after people had already bought.
Choosing in one minute
- You're on Android and you want it free and private: Loop Habit Tracker. It is the only app in this table you can install today that is free, open source, ad-free and account-free — ours will be too, but ours isn't out.
- You're on Android and want polish, and paying once is fine: HabitNow.
- You're on Apple hardware: Streaks, if 24 tasks is enough.
- You want the actual 75 Hard program: the rules are free on Frisella's site. The official app is a subscription; decide whether you want the app or the program.
- Gamification is what motivates you: Habitica, with the ads and the gem economy understood in advance.
- You want none of the above: print a grid.
- You want a hard 90-day challenge with honest restart rules, free and open source, and you're willing to wait until January: that's what we're building.
Whichever you pick, the rules matter more than the software. What counts as failing is the page to read next, and 75 Hard vs 75 Soft vs your own 90 days covers the formats themselves.